Now Playing loading...

Beyonce announces Homecoming Scholars Award winners


Parkwood Entertainment/BeyGOODBeyonce will be picking up the tab for eight lucky college students this fall.

On Monday, Queen Bey announced the winners of her Homecoming Scholars Award through her BeyGood initiative. Each student will receive a $25,000 scholarship for the 2018-19 academic year. Recipients will attend a historically black college or university.

The program was initially offered to students attending Xavier University, Wilberforce University, Tuskegee University, and Bethune-Cookman University. Google partnered with Beyonce to add for four more institutions: Texas Southern University, Fisk University, Grambling State University, and Morehouse College.

Scholarship applicants submitted an essay about an African or African-American leader in their field who has inspired them, and how they plan to contribute to history. 

The Homecoming Scholars for 2018-2019 are:

Allana J. Barefield – Xavier University 

Erin Evans – Wilberforce University

Caleb Washington – Tuskegee University

Demetrius Weaver – Bethune-Cookman University

Jordan Davis – Texas Southern University

Dartisha Moseley – Fisk University

Cletus Emokpae – Grambling State University

Kameron Willis – Morehouse College

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.