Now Playing loading...

Beyonce releases Homecoming: A Film by Beyoncé on Netflix — and a soundtrack for it


Courtesy of Parkwood Entertainment  

Today, as promised, Netflix released Homecoming: A Film by Beyoncé, the anticipated behind-the-scenes look at her historic 2018 Coachella performance.

But Queen Bey still managed to surprise fans with the release of Homecoming: The Live Album. The record includes her remake of 1981’s R&B classic “Before I Let Go” by Frankie Beverly and Maze, which plays over the end credits of the film. The song is commonly performed at historically black colleges and university games.

Eight months in the making, the film tracks Beyonce’s return to the stage after the birth of her twins, and everything it took to bring her massive performance to life: the first Coachella headlining performance by an African-American woman.

“Interspersed with candid footage and interviews detailing the preparation and powerful intent behind her vision, Homecoming traces the emotional road from creative concept to cultural movement,” Netflix says in a statement.

The streaming giant also notes that Homecoming details how Bey’s performance honored, “the African American visionaries who inspired [her], including America’s historically black college and university alums Toni Morrison, Alice Walker, activist Marian Wright Edelman, and scholar W.E.B. Du Bois, in addition to cultural luminaries such as Nina Simone, Maya Angelou, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Audre Lorde.”

In a statement, Beyoncé says of the performance, “It was one of the hardest jobs I have taken on but I knew that I had to push myself and my team to go beyond great to legendary. We knew nothing like this was ever done on a festival level before and it needed to be iconic beyond compare.” 

She adds, “The performance was an homage to an important part of African-American culture. It had to be true to those who know and entertaining and enlightening to those who needed to learn. In making the film and re-telling the story, the purpose remained the same.”

Here’s the track listing for the live album:

“Crazy In Love”
“Lift Ev’ry Voice And Sing”
“So Much Damn Swag” (interlude)
“Kitty Kat”
“Bow Down”
“I Been On”
“Drunk In Love”
“Flawless”/“Feeling Myself”
“Top Off”
“Bug a Boo Roll Call” (Interlude)
“Don’t Hurt Yourself”
“I Care”
“Mi Gente (Remix)”
“Baby Boy”
“You Don’t Love Me (No, No, No)”
“Hold Up”
“Check On It”
“Déjà Vu”(featuring JAY-Z)
“The Bzzzz Drumline” (Interlude)
“Run the World (Girls)”
“Lose My Breath” (featuring Kelly Rowland and Michelle Williams)
“Say My Name”  (featuring Kelly Rowland and Michelle Williams)
“Soldier” (featuring Kelly Rowland and Michelle Williams)
“Get Me Bodied”
“Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)”
“Lift Every Voice and Sing (Blue’s Version)”
“Love On Top”
“Shining (Thank You)”
“Before I Let Go” (Bonus Track)
“I Been On”  (Bonus Track)


Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.