Now Playing loading...

Chris Brown, Nicki Minaj Lead BET Awards Nominees


Image Courtesy Eliot Lee Hazel/ RCA RecordsChris Brown and Nicki Minaj lead among nominees for the BET Awards 2015 with six nominations apiece.

The network announced that Brown is nominated in categories including Best Male R&B/Pop Artist, Best Collaboration and Video of the Year for his smash hits “Loyal” and “New Flame.” Meanwhile, Nicki received nods for Best Collaboration, Video of the Year, Coca-Cola Viewers’ Choice Award and Best Female Hip-Hop Artist.

Elsewhere, Beyonce and Lil Wayne have earned four nominations each, while other multiple nominees include Big Sean, Usher and Sam Smith.

Shortly after the nods were announced, Azealia Banks expressed her frustration about the Best Female Hip-Hop Artist category, in which she was nominated alongside Nicki, DeJ Loaf, Iggy Azalea, Tink and Trina. “I really hate getting nominated for @bet awards. They’re so bogus,” she tweeted, adding, “The female rap award at the bet awards goes to Nicki every year, it’s not even a real award anymore lol it’s a bit of a running joke.”

The BET Awards 2015 will air Sunday, June 28 at 8 p.m. ET.

Here are the nominees:

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
Janelle Monae
Jhene Aiko
K. Michelle

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist
August Alsina
Chris Brown
John Legend
The Weeknd
Trey Songz

Best Group
A$AP Mmob
Rae Sremmurd
Rich Gang
Young Money

Best Collaboration
August Alsina f/ Nicki Minaj — “No Love” (Remix)
Big Sean f/ E-40 — “IDFWU”
Chris Brown f/ Lil Wayne & Tyga — “Loyal”
Chris Brown f/ Usher & Rick Ross — “New Flame”
Common & John Legend — “Glory” (from the Motion Picture Selma)
Mark Ronson f/ Bruno Mars — “Uptown Funk”

Best Male Hip Hop Artist
Big Sean
J. Cole
Kendrick Lamar

Best Female Hip Hop Artist
Azealia Banks
Dej Loaf
Iggy Azalea
Nicki Minaj

Video of the Year
Beyoncé — “7/11”
Big Sean f/ E-40 — “IDFWU”
Chris Brown f/ Lil Wayne & Tyga — “Loyal”
Chris Brown f/ Usher & Rick Ross — “New Flame”
Common & John Legend — “Glory” (from the Motion Picture Selma)
Nicki Minaj — “Anaconda”

Video Director of the Year
Benny Boom
Beyoncé, Ed Burke & Todd Tourso
Chris Robinson
Fatima Robinson
Hype Rilliams

Best New Artist
Bobby Shmurda
Dej Loaf
Fetty Wap
Rae Sremmurd
Sam Smith

Best Gospel Artist
Deitrick Haddon
Erica Campbell
Fred Hammond
Mali Music
Michelle Williams

Best Actress
Gabrielle Union
Kerry Washington
Taraji p. Henson
Tracee Ellis Ross
Viola Davis

Best Actor
Anthony Anderson
Idris Elba
Jussie Smollett
Kevin Hart
Terrence Howard

Youngstars Award
Jacob Latimore
Jaden Smith
Mo’ne Davis
Quvenzhané Wallis

Best Movie
Beyond the Lights
Think Like a Man Too
Top Five

Sportswoman of the Year
Brittney Griner
Candace Parker
Serena Williams
Skylar Diggins
Venus Williams

Sportsman of the Year
Chris Paul
Floyd Mayweather, Jr.
Lebron James
Marshawn Lynch
Stephen Curry

Coca-Cola Viewers’ Choice Award
Beyoncé — “7/11”
Dej Loaf — “Try Me”
Kendrick Lamar — “i”
Nicki Minaj f/ Drake, Lil Wayne & Chris Brown — “Only”
Rae Sremmurd f/ Nicki Minaj & Young Thug — “Throw Sum Mo”
The Weeknd — Earned It (from the Fifty Shades of Grey soundtrack)

Centric Award
Avery Sunshine — “Call My Name”
Jazmine Sullivan f/ Meek Mill — “Dumb”
Mark Ronson f/ Bruno Mars — “Uptown Funk”
Sam Smith f/ Mary J. Blige — “Stay with Me”
The Weeknd — “Earned It” (from the Fifty Shades of Grey soundtrack)

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.