Now Playing loading...

Dionne Warwick, Sam & Dave among Recording Academy’s 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award honorees


Joan Adlen/Getty Images; Courtesy of Sam MooreDionne Warwick, Sam & Dave, Donny Hathaway and George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic are among the artists that will be presented with Lifetime Achievement Awards next year in conjunction with the Recording Academy’s annual Special Merit Awards.

The honorees will be saluted at ceremony and tribute that’s scheduled to take place on May 11 in Los Angeles. The awards are presented to performing musicians “who have made outstanding contributions of artistic significance to the field of recording.”

Other artists who will receive 2018 Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Recording Academy include heavy-metal legends Black Sabbath, Spanish crooner Julio Iglesias and late jazz singer and bandleader Billy Eckstine.

The event also will feature the presentation of Trustees Awards to non-performers who have made their mark on the music industry.  The 2018 honorees are the Motown songwriting team of Nickolas Ashford and Valerie Simpson; music producer Lou Adler, best known for his work with The Mamas & the Papas; Carole King; comedy duo Cheech & Chong; and TV and film soundtrack composer Johnny Mandel.

Recording Academy president and CEO Neil Portnow says in a statement, “This year, we have a gifted and brilliant group of honorees and their exceptional accomplishments, contributions, and artistry will continue to influence and inspire generations to come.”

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.