Now Playing loading...

Purple Emancipation: Rare Prince videos from 1995-2010 are being released


Paul Bergen / RedfernsThe roll-out of content from the Prince vault continues: His estate and Sony Music are releasing rare videos from 1995-2010.

The videos are being released during seven weeks in November and December via all streaming video services.  The series began last Friday, November 2 with five videos from 1995’s The Gold Experience: “Endorphinmachine,” “Dolphin,” “Rock and Roll Is Alive! (And It Lives In Minneapolis),” “Eye Hate U,” and “Gold.”

Two clips from Chaos and Disorder were also released: “Dinner With Delores,” and “The Same December.”

This Friday, November 9, four videos from the 1996 Emancipation album will become available: “Betcha By Golly Wow!,” “Somebody’s Somebody,” “The Holy River,” and ”Face Down.”

“For Prince, 1995-2010 was an unprecedented period of sustained and prolific creativity,” a statement from his estate reads. “Releasing fresh recordings at a rapid-fire pace through a variety of distribution strategies including his own online NPG Music Club, Prince was making some of the most provocative, experimental and soulful music of his career.”

“Freed from major label demands and expectations, Prince was able to write, record and release his own music on his own terms,” the statement continues.

Eleven albums are represented in the video series, including Emancipation, Crystal Ball, Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic, Chocolate Invasion, Musicology, 3121, Planet Earth, LOtUSFLOW3R, and MPLSoUND.

Here’s the release schedule of Prince music videos from 1995-2010:

November 9

From Emancipation

“Betcha By Golly Wow!”
“Somebody’s Somebody”
“The Holy River”
“Face Down” 

November 16

From Crystal Ball


From Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic/Rave In2 The Joy Fantastic

“The Greatest Romance Ever Sold”
“Hot Wit U” (feat. Eve) – Nasty Girl Remix

November 23

From Chocolate Invasion

“U Make My Sun Shine” (feat. Angie Stone)

November 30

From Musicology

“Call My Name”
“Cinnamon Girl”

From 3121

“Black Sweat”
“Te Amo Corazón”

December 7

From Planet Earth

“Chelsea Rogers”
“Somewhere Here On Earth”
“The One U Wanna C”

December 14


“Crimson and Clover”


“Chocolate Box” (feat. Q-Tip) 

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.