Now Playing loading...

Robin Thicke, Pharrell Williams, Usher Ready for This Sunday’s BET Awards


Image courtesy ABC/Kelsey McNealThis year’s BET Awards show is sure to be a memorable one. Hosted by Chris Rock, the annual ceremony airs live on the network, June 29 at 8 p.m. ET.

Viewers can expect star-studded performances from Robin Thicke, John Legend, Nicki Minaj, Jhené Aiko and August Alsina at the 14th annual ceremony, taking place at the Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles.

Additional performers include DrakeLil Wayne, Jennifer Hudson, Trey Songz, Pharrell Williams, Usher and Lionel Richie.

Comedian Kevin Hart and Larenz Tate will be presenters alongside 106 & Park hosts Bow Wow and Keshia Chante.

As previously reported,  Beyoncé, Jay Z and Drake lead with five nominations. Jay and Drizzy will also go head-to-head in the Best Male Hip-Hop Artist category while Beyonce will compete with Rihanna, Janelle Monae, Tamar Braxton, and others for Best Female R&B/Pop Artist.

Here are the nominees in major categories for the BET Awards 2014:

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
Janelle Monáe
Jhené Aiko
K. Michelle
Tamar Braxton

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist
August Alsina
Chris Brown
John Legend
Justin Timberlake
Pharrell Williams

Best Group
A$AP Mob
Daft Punk
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Young Money

Best Collaboration
August Alsina feat. Trinidad Jame$ — “I Luv This”
Beyoncé feat. Jay Z — “Drunk in Love”
Drake feat. Majid Jordan — “Hold On (We’re Going Home)”
JAY Z feat. Justin Timberlake — “Holy Grail”
Robin Thicke feat. T.I. & Pharrell Williams — “Blurred Lines”
YG feat. Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan — “My Hitta”

Best Male Hip-Hop Artist
J. Cole
Jay Z  
Kendrick Lamar

Best Female Hip-Hop Artist
Angel Haze
Charli Baltimore
Iggy Azalea
Nicki Minaj

Video of the Year
Beyoncé, “Partition”
Beyoncé feat. Jay Z,  “Drunk in Love”
Chris Brown, “Fine China”
Drake, “Worst Behavior”
Pharrell Williams, “Happy”

Video Director of the Year
Benny Boom
Chris Brown
Colin Tilley
Director X
Hype Williams

Best New Artist
Ariana Grande
August Alsina
Mack Wilds
Rich Homie Quan
ScHoolboy Q

Best Gospel Artist
Donnie McClurkin
Erica Campbell
Hezekiah Walker
Tamela Mann
Tye Tribbett
Centric Award
Aloe Blacc — “The Man”
Jennifer Hudson feat. T.I. — “I Can’t Describe (The Way I Feel)”
Jhené Aiko — “The Worst”
LiV Warfield — “Why Do You Lie?”
Wale feat. Sam Dew — “LoveHate Thing”

Best International Act: U.K.
Dizzee Rascal
Krept & Konan
Laura Mvula
Rita Ora
Tinie Tempah

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>