Now Playing loading...

Solange leads 2017 Soul Train Awards nominations


Carlota GuerreroNominees for the 2017 Soul Train Awards have been announced and leading the pack is Solange, with seven nominations, including a nod for Best R&B/Soul Female artist and another for Album/Mixtape of the Year, for her album A Seat at the Table.

Bruno Mars follows the “Cranes in the Sky” singer with six nominations, including Song of the Year for “That’s What I Like,” and Video of the Year for his hit track “24K Magic.”  

Seven-time Grammy award winner Toni Braxton, who’s releasing her new album, Sex & Cigarettes, next year, will receive the prestigious Don Cornelius Legend Award for her impressive contributions to the music industry. 

In addition, Grammy-award nominated R&B trio SWV will be honored with the third annual Lady of Soul Award. 

A number of other stars including SZAThe WeekndMary J. BligeKhalidLecraeTamela MannChance the RapperDJ KhaledCardi BLalah HathawayKehlani and Chris Brown are also listed as nominees. 

The 2017 Soul Train Awards airs November 26 at 8 p.m. ET on BET and BET HER. 

Here’s the complete list of nominees: 

Best New Artist
Kevin Ross

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Bruno Mars
Bryson Tiller
Chris Brown
The Weeknd

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Lalah Hathaway
Mary J. Blige

Soul Train Certified Award
Bell Biv Devoe
Johnny Gill
Lalah Hathaway
Mack Wilds

Video of the Year
Beyoncé — “All Night”
Bruno Mars — “24K Magic”
Chris Brown Ft. Usher & Gucci Mane — “Party”
DJ Khaled Ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller — “Wild Thoughts”
Solange — “Cranes in the Sky”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award
Chance the Rapper
Charlie Wilson
Kirk Franklin
Tamela Mann

Album/Mixtape of the Year
Bruno Mars — 24k Magic
Mary J. Blige — Strength of a Woman
Solange — A Seat at the Table
Sza — Ctrl
The Weeknd — Starboy

Rhythm & Bars Award (Formerly Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year)
Cardi B — “Bodak Yellow”
Dj Khaled Ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller — “Wild Thoughts”
French Montana Ft. Swae Lee — “Unforgettable”
Kendrick Lamar — “Humble.”
Yo Gotti Ft. Nicki Minaj — “Rake It Up”

Song of the Year
Bruno Mars — “That’s What I Like”
Childish Gambino — “Redbone”
Dj Khaled Ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller — “Wild Thoughts”
Khalid — “Location”
Solange — “Cranes in the Sky”

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award
“Cranes in the Sky” — Written by: Troy L. John, Solange Knowles, Raphael Saadiq (Solange)
“Location” — Written by: Alfredo Emmanuel Gonzalez, Olatunji Olutomiwa, Samuel David Jimenez, Khalid Robinson, Joshua Scruggs (Khalid)
“Love Me Now” — Written by: Blake Matthew Simon Mills, John Henry Ryan, John Roger Stephens (John Legend)
“Redbone” — Written by: George Clinton, William Earl Collins, Gary Lee Cooer, Donaldmckinley Glover Ii, Ludwig Emil Tomas Goransson (Childish Gambino)
“Versace on the Floor” — Written by: Christopher Steven Brown, James Edward Fauntleroy, Bruno Mars, Philip Martin Lawrence (Bruno Mars)

Best Dance Performance
Bruno Mars — “24K Magic”
Chris Brown Ft. Usher & Gucci Mane — “Party”
Dj Khaled Ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller — “Wild Thoughts”
Solange Ft. Sampha — “Don’t Touch My Hair”
Wizkid Ft. Drake — “Come Closer”

Best Collaboration
Dj Khaled Ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller — “Wild Thoughts”
Jazmine Sullivan & Bryson Tiller — “Insecure”
Mary J. Blige Ft. Kanye West — “Love Yourself”
Solange Ft. Sampha — “Don’t Touch My Hair”
Sza Ft. Travis Scott — “Love Galore”

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved. 



Comments are closed.