Now Playing loading...

Janelle Monáe will be honored with SeeHer Award at 2023 Critics Choice Awards


ABC/Randy Holmes

For the last few years, the Critics Choice Awards have honored a woman with their SeeHer Award, named after the collective that supports accurate portrayals of women and girls in content. According to Billboard, the award is typically presented to an advocate of gender equality who “portrays characters with authenticity, defies stereotypes and pushes boundaries.” This year, it will go to Janelle Monáe.

Come Sunday, January 15, the singer/actress will join a list of previous recipients, including Viola Davis,Halle BerryGal Gadot and Claire Foy. Monáe, Zendaya and Kristen Bell are the only recipients known as both actresses and musicians.

The Critics Choice Awards will broadcast live on The CW at 7 p.m. ET. Chelsea Handler will host the show.

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.