Now Playing loading...

Mariah Carey, N.W.A., Kool & the Gang, Isley Brothers, Jermaine Dupri among nominees for Songwriters Hall of Fame


Courtesy SHOFThe nominees for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2018 have been announced, and it’s a lengthy list, incorporating two categories: “Performing” and “Non-Performing” songwriters.

Among the performers, the nominees include Mariah Carey, N.W.A., reggae legend Jimmy Cliff, The Isley Brothers, and Kool & the Gang.  Rockers Alice Cooper, John Mellencamp, Chrissie Hynde and Tom Waits are also on the list.

The non-performing songwriter nominees, and some of their biggest hits, include:

Jermaine Dupri —  “Always Be My Baby,” “We Belong Together,” “Confessions Part II,” “U Got It Bad,” “Jump”
Maurice Starr —  “Candy Girl,” “I’ll Be Loving You Forever,” “Is This the End,” “Jealous Girl,” “Step by Step”

Allee Willis — “Boogie Wonderland,” “I’ll Be There for You,” “Neutron Dance,” “September,” “What Have I Done to Deserve This”

William “Mickey” Stevenson — “Beechwood 4-5789,” “Dancing in the Street,” “Devil with the Blue Dress”, “It Takes Two,” “Pride and Joy”

To be eligible for induction, a songwriter must have been working for a minimum of 20 years, and have a “notable catalog” of hits.  Members have until December 17 to turn in their ballots.  Winners will be inducted next year in a gala ceremony.

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.