Now Playing loading...

Mary J. Blige, Naomi Campbell, and Lena Waithe to be honored at Black Girls Rock


BETMary J. Blige, Naomi Campbell, and Lena Waithe were announced Tuesday as the honorees for the 2018 Black Girl Rock Awards.

Mary will receive the Star Power Award, Naomi will be presented with the Black Girl Magic Award, and Lena will receive the Shot Caller Award.

In addition, famed dancer/choreographer Judith Jamison from the Alvin Ailey America Dance Theater will be honored with the Living Legend Award, and the founder of the “Me Too” movement, Tarana Burke, will receive the Community Change Agent Award.

Yolanda AdamsTamiaH.E.R., and JAY-Z protege Victory Boyd will perform at the event, while Ava DuVernayCiara, ballet star Misty Copeland, and Naturi Naughton from Power will also appear.

The show will feature a special tribute to the late Aretha Franklin.

“Each year I’m humbled to gather and celebrate Black women’s excellence, intelligence and savoir-faire,” says Black Girls Rock founder Beverly Bond. “This year we are honoring women who are the Queens of their respective industries and celebrating the memory of our forever Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin, who left us with classics and an example of how to take on life with resilience and grace.”

She adds, “I am grateful to BET for helping to elevate the Black Girls Rock mission and for being our partners in exalting the royalty of Black women and girls.”

As previously reported, Black Girls Rock will be hosted by Queen Latifah. The show will be taped Sunday, August 26 at the New Jersey Performing Arts Center in Newark, and will air Sunday, September 9 at 8 p.m. 

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.