Now Playing loading...

Beyoncé names Formation Scholars winners


Christopher Polk/Getty Images for NARASCongratulations are in order!  

The four lucky recipients of Beyoncé‘s Formation Scholars award have  been announced.   

The winners are Sadiya Ramos from Berklee College of Music, Maya Rogers from Howard University, Avery Youngblood from the Parsons School of Design at The New School, and Bria Paige from Spelman College.  

Bey announced on the date of Lemonade‘s one-year anniversary this April that she’d created a new scholarship program for four incoming, current or graduate students attending four institutions of higher learning during the 2017-2018 school year.   

Young women “unafraid to think outside the box and are bold, creative, conscious and confident,” and whose focus of study includes music, literature, African-American studies or the creative arts were encouraged to apply.

Applicants were also required to submit a short essay on “how LEMONADE inspired their education goals,” and to maintain a 3.5 or above grade-point average. 

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.