Now Playing loading...

Xscape to receive the Lady of Soul honor at the ‘Soul Train Awards 2022’


Derek White/Getty Images

Xscape will receive the Lady of Soul honor at the Soul Train Awards 2022.

Group members Kandi Burruss-Tucker, Tameka “Tiny” Harris, Tamika Scott and LaTocha Scott made the announcement on Instagram and added a highlight reel of their videos. The clip also featured a flashback of New Edition announcing the ladies winning a Soul Train Award in 1996.

“Given how important Soul Train is to all of us, we’re so thankful to be honored with the ‘Lady of Soul’ Award this year,” they said. “It’s going to be an amazing night, and we can’t wait to see you all there.”

Jermaine Dupri discovered the Atlanta group and signed them to his So So Def label. Their 1993 debut album, Hummin’ Comin’ at ‘Cha, was certified Platinum, featuring the number one hits “Just Kickin’ It“ and “Understanding.” Xscape followed with two more Platinum albums, Off The Hook in 1995 and Traces of My Lipstick in 1998.

“Xscape is one of the most notable R&B supergroups of all time. Their powerful vocal harmonies laid the foundation for ‘90s R&B and some of today’s chart-topping hits,” BET’s Connie Orlando said in a statement. “Their sound is undeniably unique and masterful. We look forward to honoring these multi-talented artists collectively on R&B’s biggest stage, Soul Train Awards.”

Beyoncé and Mary J. Blige lead the Soul Train Awards nominations with seven nods each. Ari Lennox has six nominations, followed by Lizzo and Chris Brown with five nods. Burna Boy, Muni Long and Steve Lacy are each up for four awards; and Silk Sonic, PJ Morton and Tems each received three nominations.

Hosted by comedian Deon Cole, the Soul Train Awards 2022 air Sunday, November 27, at 8 p.m. ET/PT on BET.

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.