Now Playing loading...

Beyonc? Surprisingly Releases New “Visual Album”


Photo by Frank Micelotta/Invision for Parkwood Entertainment/AP ImagesWe can all stop speculating when Beyoncé‘s next album will drop, because it’s already here.

Late Thursday, she surprisingly released a self-titled album exclusively on iTunes. Her fifth studio effort, described as a “visual album,” contains 14 songs and 17 videos.

B says in a statement, “I didn’t want to release my music the way I’ve done it. I am bored with that. I feel like I am able to speak directly to my fans. There’s so much that gets between the music, the artist and the fans. I felt like I didn’t want anybody to give the message when my record is coming out. I just want this to come out when it’s ready and from me to my fans.”

Beyoncé’s husband, Jay Z, is featured on a song titled “Drunk In Love,” while their daughter, Blue Ivy, can be heard on another song, “Blue.”

Her collaborators on the project also included Justin Timberlake, Drake, Frank Ocean, Timbaland, Miguel, OneRepublic‘s Ryan Tedder, and her Destiny’s Child band mates, Kelly Rowland and Michelle Williams.

Missing from the album: “Grown Woman,” which was utilized in her Pepsi commercial, and “Standing on the Sun,” which appeared in an H&M ad campaign.

The video collection, which was shot in cities ranging from Houston to Paris to Rio de Janeiro, does include a bonus “Grown Woman” clip.

In regards to the videos that accompany her new songs, Beyoncé says, “I see music. It’s more than just what I hear. When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music.”

Her label promises a double-disc CD/DVD set will be available in time for the holidays.

You’ll recall that earlier this year, Jay Z also launched an album, Magna Carta Holy Grail, in unique fashion. In his case, it was as a giveaway via Samsung phones.

As if the release of her new album wasn’t enough, Beyoncé has also debuted on Facebook part one of a mini documentary chronicling her work on the album.

Beyoncé is currently taking her Mrs. Carter Show World Tour around North America.

Here’s the complete track listing for Beyoncé:

“Pretty Hurts”
“Drunk in Love” (Featuring Jay Z)
“No Angel”
“Mine” (Featuring Drake)
“***Flawless” (Featuring Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie)
“Superpower” (Featuring Frank Ocean)
“Blue” (Featuring Blue Ivy)

These are the videos included with the album:

“Pretty Hurts”
“Drunk in Love”
“No Angel”
“Grown Woman” (bonus video)

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>