Now Playing loading...

Janet Jackson, Jill Scott & More Lead Music Categories in NAACP Image Awards


NAACPThe nominees for the NAACP Image Awards were announced this morning in Los Angeles, and stars old and new were honored with nods in the music categories

Young black-ish stars Marsai Martin and Miles Brown announced the nominees for the awards, which will air live on TV One Friday, February 5, 2016 at 9pm ET.

Pharrell was the only musician nominated in the Entertainer of the Year category, along with the likes of Shonda Rhimes, Viola Davis and Michael B. Jordan

Here are all the music nominees:

Outstanding New Artist
Andra Day
Judith Hill
Jussie Smollet
The Weeknd

Outstanding Traditional Song
“Back Together,” Jill Scott
“Every Time I’m with You,” Seal
“Feeling Good,” Lauryn Hill
“Good Night Kisses,” Charlie Wilson
“Let It Burn,” Jazmine Sullivan

Outstanding Contemporary Song
“Conqueror,”  Empire Cast f. Estelle & Jussie Smollet
“Freedom,” Pharrell
“No Sleeep,” Janet Jackson f. J. Cole
“Unbreakable,” Janet Jackson
“You’re So Beautiful,” Empire Cast f. Jussie Smollett & Yazz

Outstanding Male Artist
Charlie Wilson
Kendrick Lamar
Pharrell Williams
The Weeknd
Tyrese Gibson

Outstanding Female Artist
Janet Jackson
Jazmine Sullivan
Jill Scott
Lalah Hathaway
Lauryn Hill

Outstanding Album
Beauty Behind the Madness, The Weeknd
Empire Original Soundtrack Season 1
Forever Charlie, Charlie Wilson
Unbreakable, Janet Jackson
Woman, Jill Scott

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration
“Conqueror,”  Empire Cast feat. Estelle & Jussie Smollett
Hamilton: An American Musical, Original Broadway Cast
“No Sleeep,” Janet Jackson feat. J. Cole
“One Man Can Change The World,” Big Sean feat. Kanye West and John Legend
“Sound & Color,” Alabama Shakes

Outstanding Gospel Album – (Traditional or Contemporary)
A Different Place, Kim Burrell
It’s Personal, Tina Campbell
Losing My Religion, Kirk Franklin
The Gospel According To Jazz – Chapter IV, Kirk Whalum
You Shall Live, Marvin Sapp

Outstanding Music Video
“Can’t Feel My Face,”  The Weeknd
“Freedom,”  Pharrell Williams
“No Sleeep,”  Janet Jackson feat. J. Cole
“Shame,”  Tyrese Gibson
“Sound & Color,”  Alabama Shakes

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.