Now Playing loading...

Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye classics part of new Motown playlist inspired by Michelle Obama’s memoir, Becoming


Courtesy of Motown/UMeAs part of her ongoing book tour to promote her new memoir, Becoming, Michelle Obama paid her first-ever visit to Hitsville U.S.A., the home of Detroit’s Motown Museum, located at the site of Motown Records’ first headquarters and recording studio.

In honor of Becoming, Motown has curated a playlist of classic songs from throughout the label’s history that were inspired by various moments in the former first lady’s life.

The 40-track playlist is available now via various streaming platforms, including YouTube. The list includes multiple songs by such Motown legends as Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, The Temptations, The Four Tops, The Supremes and The Jackson 5. Wonder, in particular, is mentioned as one of Mrs. Obama’s favorite artists in her book.

“Every story needs a soundtrack, and Motown has provided so much rhythm to my life,” she says in a statement. “That’s why I’m thrilled to bring one of America’s greatest contributions to the world — the soul and the beat of Motown — to my events here in Detroit.”

As part of her visit to Hitsville U.S.A., Mrs. Obama attended a roundtable discussion with young black men from Detroit’s Wayne State University that was moderated by actor/comedian Keegan Michael Key, a Motor City native.

Motown sponsored the event, which was organized by Mrs. Obama’s Reach Higher campaign. The initiative has been hosting similar events throughout her book tour.

In conjunction with the tour, Mrs. Obama is scheduled to take part in a conversation with comedian, writer and actress Phoebe Robinson tonight at Detroit’s Little Caesars Arena.

Here is the Becoming Motown Classic Playlist:

“Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” — Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell
“The Way You Do the Things You Do” — The Temptations
“Dancing in the Street” — Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
“Please Mr. Postman” — The Marvelettes
“The Old Heart of Mine (Is Weak for You)” — The Isley Brothers
“Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing” — Marvin Gaye and Tammy Terrell
“Baby Love” — The Supremes
“It’s the Same Old Song” — Four Tops
“Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me)” — The Temptations
“Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I’m Yours)” — Stevie Wonder
“I Heard It Through the Grapevine” — Gladys Knight & The Pips
“My Guy” — Mary Wells
“It Takes Two” — Marvin Gaye and Kim Weston
“I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)” — Four Tops
“Who’s Loving You” — The Jackson 5
“Beauty Is Only Skin Deep” — The Temptations
“The Tracks of My Tears” — Smokey Robinson & The Miracles
“For Once in My Life” — Stevie Wonder
“Baby, I’m for Real” — The Originals
“Ain’t Too Proud to Beg” — The Temptations
“I’ll Be There” — The Jackson 5
“Reach Out, I’ll Be There” — Four Tops
“What’s Going On” — Marvin Gaye
“Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)” — Marvin Gaye
“As” — Stevie Wonder
“Color” — Zhane
“I Love Your Smile” — Shanice
“Treat Her Like a Lady” — The Temptations
“Zoom” — Commodores
“The Truth” — India.Arie
“Didn’t Cha Know” — Erykah Badu
“My Cherie Amour” — Stevie Wonder
“Woman’s World” — BJ The Chicago Kid
“I’m Coming Out” — Diana Ross
“Video” — India.Arie
“Square Biz” — Teena Marie
“Rhythm of the Night” — Debarge
“You and I” — Stevie Wonder
“Someday We’ll Be Together” — Diana Ross & The Supremes
“Feel So Good” (Do the Right Thing soundtrack version) — Perri

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.