Now Playing loading...

New music Friday: Jay Electronica, Rich the Kid, Chika and more


Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for Anheuser-BuschAfter his introductory performance on his Act I: Eternal Sunshine (The Pledge) mixtape and on “Exhibit C,” Jay Electronica has finally brought us the album we’ve waited for over a decade. And he’s got one of the best rappers alive in his corner, too: Jay-Z.  Electronica was one of many who dropped an album today, along with Chika, Rich the Kid and more. Here’s a rundown:

Jay Electronica — A Written Testimony
Jay Electronica’s debut album has not one but several Jay-Z features on “Fruits of the Spirit,” “Universal Solider,” “Flux Capacitor” and on “Ghost of Soulja Slim.” The Dream lent vocals on “Ezekiel’s Wheel” and “Shiny Suit Theory.”

Chika — Industry Games
Artist and activist Chika isn’t playing Industry Games on her debut EP. The seven-track project proves why she’s one of the most influential young voices of this generation. Her claim to fame came after her Kanye West freestyle calling out the rapper for wearing a MAGA hat. Her socially-conscious lyrics, fiery delivery and comedic timing are evident on “Crown,” “Designer” and the album’s title track. 

Rich the Kid — Bossman
 is the follow-up to Rich’s platinum solo album, The World is Yours 2, the second installment in his seriesThe World is Yours.The album includes guest appearances from Lil BabyNicki MinajFutureDaBaby, and Post Malone, including advance tracks — “That’s Tuff” feat. Quavo and “Money Talk,” feat. YoungBoy Never Broke Again. This is Rich’s first release under Republic Records. 

Don Toliver — Heaven or Hell
Newcomer Don Toliver has got a story to tell on his debut album, Heaven or Hell. He battles it out with Travis Scott and Kaash Paige to see who can hit the high notes on “Euphoria.” Boasting production from WondaGurl and Mike Dean, the album includes titles like “After Party,” “Can’t Feel My Legs,” and the previously released “Had Enough,” featuring Quavo and Offset.  

Blueface — Find the Beat
West Coast rapper Blueface decided to Find the Beat on his new album.  After a few delays, he released the album today with verses from Gunna, Da BabyNLE ChoppaJeremih, YBN Nahmir and Ambjaay (“Uno”).

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.